Essentials: The Toiletry Kit

Standard

September 9, 2010

Qatar Airways Flight QR 647

Somewhere over the Persian Gulf

~

I bring the seat back to it’s sitting position. I can’t understand why I’m feeling sick. The first 5 hours aboard the Qatar Airways Manila – Doha flight was very pleasant. Cholo has managed to upgrade our Economy Seats to Business Class Seats; I don’t know how he did that. The food was good. I had some tuna and tiramisu.

Why do I feel nauseous?!

I get up, take my in-flight bag from the overhead bin and retrieve my toiletry kit.

I should go to the toilet.

I sit down to relieve my self. I still don’t feel better.

I walk back to my chair.

I should tell Cholo I don’t feel too good.

What the hell did I eat?! Was it the sandwich from the airport lounge? I didn’t drink coffee. Was it the tonic water? Did I over eat?

I need to go to the toilet again.

I go through my toiletry kit and start looking for pills. Dang! I checked them in!

Still don’t feel too good. I need to vomit.

Why isn’t anything coming out?!

Cholo must be worried, will go back to my seat.

There’s the Flight Attendant. Should ask for an air sickness bag.

Can’t believe we’re about to land and I feel awful with this bag covering my face!

I hope the change in pressure will make me vomit.

I think we’ve landed. the seat belt sign in finally off. I should go to the toilet before disembarking.

Why is this happening to me?! I have two fingers down my throat and still not vomiting!

I should disembark now.

Oh crap! I forgot I need to ride on a bus to get to the transit area of Doha International Airport!

I should tell Cholo that I prefer to stand near the doors of the Bus just incase.

The bus diver is driving to fast! I don’t remember the tarmac here to wind as much..i’m getting more nauseous!

Finally we’re here at the gate. I should call out to Cholo. OH NO! I think I’m gonna barf! Can the doors finally open?!

I need to barf somewhere! I need to walk faster! I don’t want to barf in the middle of the tarmac!

——–

So glad I made it to the side of the gate. Oh shit! An Arab airport personnel is looking at me! OH MY GOD! I MIGHT GET QUARANTINED! 

Dang! I stink of fish…

~

On that fateful night, I didn’t get quarantined. I just had to go to the clinic to ask for pills for indigestion.

~

Inside the airport, I made my way to the toilet. Washed my face. Brushed my teeth. Swished some mouth wash and waited groggily for my connecting flight to Rome.

It is during times like these when your toiletry kit comes in handy. I learned this the hard way.

~

Your toiletry kit must have the essentials that you need just in case you find yourself in a situation similar to mine. I have learned over time that you must have on hand the essential things that you might need for a flight.

my toiletry kit

Listed below are the things that you might need.

Wet Tissues

I ran out of wet tissues earlier on the flight. As soon as I finished vomiting on the side of the immigration gates at Doha International Airport, I asked Cholo for some wet tissues. He handed me dry ones. I was too weak to get pissed, because I handed him a whole pack of wet tissues in Manila and he told me he already had them in his bag. You should have seen the though balloon floating in my head, “Note to self: No matter what, bring it yourself next time.”

There I was  lining up through the transit/immigration area waiting for my turn to put my bags through the x-ray machine stinking of fish.

Alcohol

I suggest you buy one of those small bottles of alcohol; the spray type. Aside from sanitizing your hands, there might come a time when you just need to spray the toilet seat.

Tooth Brush, Tooth Paste, Mouth Wash, Dental Floss

On a flight you are only given these things when you fly 6 hours or more (minus the mouth wash and dental floss). Might as well bring your own. The tooth paste given is good for one use and the toothbrush is not even serviceable enough to psychologically satisfy someone, let’s say, who threw up some fish on the side of the immigration gates.

I remember being on the red-eye from Bangkok, aboard Cebu Pacific Air. I was sharing my seat with two Americans.  I just came from the toilet to brush away the after taste the noodle left in my mouth. I decided to grab some shut-eye. I put the table down and rested my head on it. I must have dozed off for some thirty minutes when a stink in the air slowly woke me up. As I opened my eyes, I see the American girl, with her head on the table facing me with her breath directly in my face.

I found out where the stink came from.

Couldn’t sleep for the rest of the flight.

Brush your teeth. You owe that to the person sitting beside you.

p.s.

When buying a tooth-brush I suggest buying the regular size ones with caps in comparison to those Oral B tooth brush-travel pack. Mainly because the regular size ones are easier to maintain and clean. The Oral B travel tooth-brush is difficult to clean, and over time algae accumulates at the bottom of the covering. It is very unsanitary.

Facial Mist

The air inside the plane makes your skin dry. Once you feel your skin tighten that means it’s time to hydrate. Just spray some facial mist to freshen up. Will help you to “wake-up” after dozing off.

It will make you feel better.

Facial Scrub and Facial Moisturizer

If you have a 4 hour lay over or  even more, one way to freshen up before boarding your next flight is to wash your face. Facial scrub can wash away the dirt that you picked up on the plane or at the airport. Washing your face will make you feel better and LOOK better.

 Moisturizing can help hydrate your skin. Remember, dry skin can lead to skin irritation called pimples.

Eye Drops

Helps to remove “red eyes”. Helps to wake you up. Helps to moisten dry eyes.

Lip Balms

Lip balms like Chapstick can help prevent your lips from drying out. Dry lips are painful. Licking it won’t help, it will jut make it dryer. Using lip balms helps make your lips feel better. It can lead you to have a much more comfortable traveling experience.

A small pack of Meds

One should remember that when  traveling to a different country, that country has their own specific rules when it comes to selling medicines.  So bring your own.

I learned this the hard way when Cholo and I spent two months in London. The weather there can get so bad and capricious that I came down with the flu. I couldn’t buy flu medicines over the counter because I needed a doctor’s prescription. Let me just say that I recuperated by drinking lots of tea and buying some anti-tussive medication from BOOTS. After that I swore to bring my own meds next time.

Cholo was also in a similar situation when we were in Ho Chi Minh, Vietnam for work. He suddenly came down with the flu. I didn’t bring any meds with me because it was just a short trip. I had to walk the entire length of Nguyen Thi minh Khai Street looking for a pharmacy. After being lost in translation, I was able to buy something similar to Bioflu.

In my opinion when traveling you should bring the following:

  1. Biogesic – just in case you come down with fever.
  2. Non-Drowse Decolgen – take one tablet one hour before a flight. It prevents you from coming down with a cold.
  3. Strepsils (for dry cough)/ Solmux – to help you with your cough.
  4. Mefinamic Acid – as a pain reliever. doesn’t have a massive impact to your liver unlike acetaminophen or ibuprofen
  5. Diatabs/lomotil/Imodium – just incase  you come down with diarrhea.
  6. Tums/Kremil-S  – anti flatulence / anti gas
  7. Flagyl Forte – anti amoebiasis pills. three times a day for seven days (do the math) NOTE: you couldn’t drink alcohol while medicated
  8. Claritin – anti-allergy. Once you start sneezing in a new country, that’s it.
Keep a tablet of two in your toiletry kit for the flight and keep the rest in a medicine wallet (available at all BEABI stores) inside your check in baggage.

Then again, one’s toiletry kit depends on one’s personality and needs. so what one needs is purely on a case to case basis. I hope that  this simple input of mine will help You in creating your own staples inside your toiletry kit.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: When In Rome « TOR Guide

  2. Pingback: Piazza del Popolo « TOR Guide

  3. I absolutely love your blog and find a lot of your post’s to be
    exactly what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to
    write content for yourself? I wouldn’t mind writing
    a post or elaborating on most of the subjects
    you write regarding here. Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

