A Burst Of Color: The Yukata Girls of Kyoto

Standard
A Burst Of Color: The Yukata Girls of Kyoto

 

Arashiyama Kyoto, Japan.

August 10, 2011

~

“If we walk down this street go straight and turn left, we will end up by Katsura-gawa.” I said to Cholo.

“Are you sure?” he asks.

I rolled my eyes and replied, “Yes.”

“How do you know?”

“It’s on the map.” I replied.

A burst of colored appeared before me. I fell silent.

I took out my mom’s camera.

The girl passed us by.

I turned around raised by mom’s camera and CLICK!

 

 

~

My first Yukata sighting.

~

We had just arrived in Kyoto that afternoon and decided to venture around our neighborhood.

We found ourselves right across from the Tenryu-ji in Susukinobaba-chō, Ukyō Ward, Kyoto, Japan, a UNESCO world heritage sight. We decided to explore it another day and turned left on the intersection.

I was welcomed with a throng of girls dressed in their Yukata.

Suddenly everywhere I turned, there are lots of girls in their Yukata!

It’s like watching colorful flowers bloom under the summer sun. It is indeed a sight to behold.

~

If one decides to travel to Japan in the summer, I believe one of the best sights that awaits you are the Yukata girls. It amazes me that such tradition lives in a modern society.

It is perfectly okay to have your photo taken with them! They look forward to it. Just approach them, ask kindly and you will be rewarded.

~

to view the complete album (on my facebook), click here.

About tor

Tor is a freelance Makeup Artist in the Philippines. His work can be seen around the Southeast Asian Region in countries like Thailand, Indonesia, Malaysia and Vietnam. Tor loves traveling on a budget and backpacking in different countries. Life is bringing out the TRAVELER in him.

Leave a Reply

