Around A Positano Bus Stop

Positano

Bus Stop

Via dei Mulini Corner Via Cristoforo Colombo

Amalfi Coast

Campania, Italy

~

It was now time for us to head back to Praiano. We just followed the main path atop the stairs by Chiesa Santa Maria Assunta di Positano and walked.

After asking around where the fermata di autobus is located, we found ourselves at a corner and a Tabaccheria* across us.

“Wait here Bubba. I’ll go get our tickets.” I told Cholo.

“OK.”

I proceeded to the Tabaccheria*.

“Buongiorno Signore! Per favore, Vorrei due biglietti per Praiano? ” I asked for two tickets for Praiano. Unsure if the man behind the counter understood me.

“Si!” he replied as he pressed his fingers on the buttons of his cash register.

He started speaking in rapid fire Italian and all I picked up was, “….due Euro e venti centesimio.”

I handed him my payment as he handed me my tickets.

I was a little worried when I saw the ticket because it didn’t look like the Sita Bus ticket (click here to be brought to my previous blog).  After examining my ticket closely, the ticket stated that the bus runs through Positano to Praiano and vice versa.

I walk back to the bus stop a little apprehensive because I might have had bought the wrong ticket.

“Do you have our tickets?” asked Cholo.

“Yes, but they look different for the Sita Bus tickets. There must be a different bus line that goes around.” I replied.

“Are you sure?” he asked.

“No.”

A few minutes later, a small orange bus comes into view**.

~

Views from the bus stop:

tabaccheria

(in front of the bus stop)

*If you need a bus ticket anywhere in Italy, look for a Tabaccheria. It’s a one stop shop that sells water, chips, candy, gellato and bus tickets. Oh yes, cigarettes too.

Parcheggio (Parking)

(To the right of the bus stop)

If i would have known parking attendants were this cute in Italy, I would have rented a car.

Via dei Mulini

(Behind the bus stop)

Via dei Mulini is the road (looks like a path really) that will lead you all the way to the steps of Chiesa Santa Maria Assunta di Positano, Piazza Flavio Gioia, and Spiaggia Grande. It is lined with quaint shops selling quaint stuff.

asking for directions

(To the left of the bus stop)

Here is a french woman asking an old Italian man if she was at the right bus stop to proceed to Praiano.

~

**I found out soon after that there was a municipal bus that goes from Praiano and Positano and vice versa every 3o minutes (plus or minus). It is what the locals usually take to commute  because it goes into the heart of town of both comunes .

It will cost you 1.10 Euros per way.

It is a cheaper alternative than riding on the Sita Bus which cost 2.40 on a 45 minute ticket.

Leave a comment